Walnut Crusted Chicken

Walnut Crusted Chicken

Today’s the first day the girls and I are starting our challenge.  No one is thrilled about it, but we all know it’s what’s best for us.  I did well until after dinner.  I can’t help myself, I love dessert.  I had ice cream.  It makes me so happy!!  And…I didn’t work out today.  I’m in a LOT of pain, okay?!  My tailbone hurts and my calves hurt from walking on the stairs yesterday and my little chicken wing hurts.  I’m a mess today!  So I’m taking today off, but don’t let me get away with it tomorrow!  Well, I need to tell the girls this so they can whip me back into shape!

So today we have another deliciously healthy meal.  Nom, nom!!  And I absolutely love these “true baby carrots” (that’s what they’re actually called…how cute!).  I’ve only ever seen them served at fancy restaurants, so when I saw them at the grocery store this weekend, I quickly threw them in my cart.  Just like a hot potato.  Nobody is allowed to take my carrots away!

WALNUT CRUSTED CHICKEN

INGREDIENTS

  • egg
  • 1/3 cup walnuts
  • 1/4 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • thinly sliced chicken breasts
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

INGREDIENTS FOR TRUE BABY CARROTS

  • 6 or so true baby carrots
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/8 tsp thyme
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tbsp honey

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Pulse walnuts, Panko breadcrumbs and cayenne pepper together.
  • In a shallow dish, add an egg and a pinch of salt and pepper; whisk together.
  • In a separate shallow dish, add the walnut mixture to it.
  • Dip chicken in egg, then dredge in the walnut mixture.
  • Heat the olive oil in a skillet; cook chicken 3 minutes on each side or until golden brown.
  • Heat oven to 400 F.  In a baking dish, combine carrots, thyme, salt and pepper.  Cook for 20 minutes.
  • Remove from oven and toss with honey.

2 thoughts on “Walnut Crusted Chicken

Leave a Reply

