White Bean Chili with Chicken

White Chili with ChickenI am SO excited about what I am going to share with you right now.  A co-worker friend of mine and I were talking today about our weight.  You see, I don’t know if you know this about me or not, but I LOVE food.  Food makes me happy, no matter what it is, pretty much.  30 minutes after I eat a meal I’m thinking about what I’ll be eating later; it’s THAT bad.  With that kind of love for food and my [now] slowed metabolism and shear laziness, I can’t continue with this love affair I have with food.  It’s not doing me any favors!

So I told Anabel, my awesome co-worker/friend, that it would be great if I had someone I can check in with so I could be held accountable so I can’t get away with not taking care of myself.  Anabel got really excited because that’s exactly how she is.  So putting our two genius heads together, we thought, “hey, let’s do this together!”  Then we both discovered that we’re very competitive people, so let’s make it a REAL challenge!  We’re giving each other until the end of the month to see who can lose the most weight . . . in a healthy way, of course!  No starvation allowed … I nearly made myself laugh.  We are two girls who unabashedly love food, so there will definitely NOT be any starvation going on here!  Just a lot of healthy choices.  Then we got to thinking that we needed a few more girls to join to make it better!  So we’ve recruited three other awesome co-workers/friends and we’re ALL super excited for this!  The challenge starts tomorrow.  Oh, my gosh, I am so excited!

I fell in love with Katrina and Karena from Tone It Up!  They have great workouts and are down to earth, so it makes it easy to stick with their program.  I just go to YouTube and click on their most popular videos and from there I pick and choose which workouts I want to do that day.  I love it!

Now the bad news?  I dread to even talk about it.

This was my first day coming back from my beautiful two week vacation (sigh…)

I have this pair of sandals that I wear a lot that are VERY slippery.  Knowing this, I think I’m invincible and jump for joy everywhere I go.  So I’m quickly going down the stairs today, ready to head out the door, when one foot goes up in the air and down the stairs I fall!  Immediately, I thought, “oh, no, not again!  AND the same spot on the stairs!”  So I was trying to protect my tail feather.  That was ALL I was thinking about.  As I was going down step by step (day by day!!  Tell me you know what I’m singing there!) I started feeling major stinging on my right arm.  Ahh, yes…I didn’t realize that’s how I was attempting to slow myself down…with my uncovered arm.  Oh, man…so I calmly said after that horrible accident, “really?  Really?  Did this really just happen?”  Then I fed Kira and slowly walked back upstairs to put some alcohol on all of my peeled off skin, took some bandages and Neosporin to put on myself AFTER getting to work because at this point I was running late.  I didn’t have time for breakfast; I just had to leave.  So I got to work and thankfully we have a First Aid kit.  I put some burn cream on my entire forearm and had someone wrap it up in gauze.  Ouch…it’s been burning all day.  This is me, folks.  Welcome to my life: klutz central.  Looks like I’ll be getting a permanent scar from this.  I was thinking I should start getting tattoos.  Better than scars, right?!  Yeesh…

OH WELL!  Onward!  No need to dwell on what’s happened because I’ve done all I could to help myself heal as quickly as possible.  It’s time now to think about things I CAN change, such as entering the world of healthy eating!

Which brings me to today’s recipe…white bean chili with chicken!  It’s super easy to make and has a lot of flavor.  I used pre-cooked chicken from the previous night.  You can easily boil the chicken right now for 15 minutes and just add it to the pot.  No prob!  I was starving by the time I got home today, so when I dug into this chili, my belly was satisfied, not angry like other skinny foods make me feel.  It’s seriously so quick to put together and so yummy…what are you waiting for?!  😀

WHITE BEAN CHILI WITH CHICKEN

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 shredded chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 1/4 salt
  • 1/4 black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 can white beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Heat oil in Dutch oven over medium heat; add olive oil
  • Saute onions until tender
  • Add cumin, oregano, salt, pepper, beans and broth and bring to a boil
  • Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes
  • Top with Monterey Jack cheese

Leave a Reply

